• Create Account

Beginner Game developer

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 VideoGamer   Members   -  Reputation: 107

0Likes

Posted 26 May 2013 - 04:31 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a game developer in-training and a intermediate programmer.

I know c#, c++, asp.net and html and I'm learning python, JavaScript, html5 and directx.

Most of what I've learn comes from my attempt to make a cross-platform game engine and level editor.

I know I should use free pre-made engines like Unity3D but I feel like I'll learn more by writing my own engine.

But what do you think? Should I quit making my engine and start making simple 2D games?

Or should I continue with the confidence that I'm doing something that will be useful to me in future?

Sponsor:

#2 WavyVirus   Members   -  Reputation: 735

0Likes

Posted 26 May 2013 - 06:21 AM

If you have never made any games, it is probably a good idea to do so before continuing with your engine. At the very least, creating a few simple games or becoming familiar with a couple of existing engines will give you valuable insight into how your own engine should work.

#3 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6106

2Likes

Posted 26 May 2013 - 06:21 AM

Do whatever you want.

If you want to make a game: Use whatever engines, libraries, tools, etc that helps you get the job done. (This goes for any other real world project really).

If you enjoy writing low level code, write low level code,

As for making an engine, read this: http://scientificninja.com/blog/write-games-not-engines

I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#4 Celiasson   Members   -  Reputation: 502

0Likes

Posted 26 May 2013 - 06:25 AM