Code Review - Pong clone..

Started by
4 comments, last by rip-off 10 years, 10 months ago

Hello

For the past few days I have been working on the Pong clone. I have made it before, but I wasn't satisfied with the quality of the code, so I decided to rewrite it. I guess you all are bored, because of the Pong Clones attacking you from every side, but here it is:

https://gist.github.com/Shayelxx/5691085

Well.. I think that it may be too big for such a simple game, but I am just starting to learn :)

Advertisement

I can't do a full code review, I don't think I am qualified to do that. ^^

But as a few suggestions.

1. SFML's rectangle(as do most graphics API's) have functions 'contains' or 'intersects.' I'd always use one of those functions rather than reinventing a bounding box collision.

2. Personally I like to create my own Vector class so I can remove coupling between graphics and physics as much possible. Since your graphics api, SFML, provides you with sf::vector I'd make your own for the physics. This way you can override basic operations like addition, subtraction and equals with C++. Also you can also write the normalize, mag, and other vector operations in that class rather than putting them in CBall.

3. Totally preference. But when I create my headers I go by this order. Public functions/variables -> private functions/variables. You have it the other way around. I like the most general, class defining functions to be at the top and the details(private variables/functions) to be at the bottom. Simply makes it more readable and maintainable in larger projects, for me.

Other than that, it seems well engineered to me for a simple game ^^. Easily readable and logical. GJ!

Thanks for your feedback