Share your coding story.

Started by
28 comments, last by latch 10 years, 8 months ago

Here's mine:

I started coding when I was 11 an a wire wrap computer my dad built that only had a calculator screen. We just had a keypad an had to code in machine language(there wasn't even assembly language on this z80 computer- all hex) Later I received a Timex Sinclair 1000 to program on and it had a membrane keyboard that hurt my fingers after hours of programming so I bought a keyboard from Radio Shack, modified its circuitry to make it compatible and screwed it and the motherboard to some plywood and soldered them together. At school, we used Apple IIs and I always wowed my teachers. A friend in my electronics class loaned me his Apple IIc and I coded on that quit a bit all BASIC. One Christmas, I received an Atari 800lx which I coded like a fiend on mostly BASIC and some Assembly because I had a cartridge for that!

I then got away from computers for a long time- like 10 years. I got back in to them in 1999 when I first got on the internet. I promptly earned an Associate's Degree in computer science(the college paid me to tutor Visual Basic) and became an A+ Certified computer repair technician. I struck out on my own and have been self employed for 8 years now. Most of my coding has been geared toward robotics and interfacing the real world though I have accomplished mostly nothing in that endeavour other than exposure to several languages. I have dabbled in the following languages in order of time used each: Basic, Visual Basic, Python, B4A, C, WXEuphoria, PHP, java, C++.