• Create Account

3D Object Manipulation Mobile Game Development Framework

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 DarrenVortex   Members   -  Reputation: 112

0Likes

Posted 18 June 2013 - 02:05 AM

I know I know it's a pretty long title! smile.png

Well I guess I should say Hi first since I'm a newbie in Gamedev.net and this is my first post...

Oh well, I guess I'll go right to the point then!

I'm a programmer. I've explored many aspects of programming so I know basic computer science stuff (I'm actually language-independent now!), and now I want to make a game! Luckily, I have a designer who's made me a 3D spaceship in 3Ds Max, and right now all I really want to do is:

1. Create an phone game app (Preferably compilable for both Android & iOS)

2. Import the spaceship model (I have it in .obj format right now but max can convert to some other formats as well.)

3. Make it move up and down!

I have many options in front of me: Cocos3d, Unity3d, jMonkeyEngine, and similar libraries / frameworks. But I don't really know where to start. I've tried some but haven't quite found the ideal choice yet. Things that affect my choice of framework are:

1. I hate Unity since it's GUI dependent, and I'm a low-level programmer (I see the world in text-based!). I don't use IDEs for app development, just a text editor and a Console + simply reading the doc and calling the APIs from code. I just want a framework / lib, not an entire SDK.

2. I'm still a beginner in game dev, so simple-to-follow and complete documentation and an easy-to-start-with library.

3. Easy 3D Support

Now with these said, what do the masters suggest me to use?

Edited by DarrenVortex, 18 June 2013 - 03:13 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 shaggyred   Members   -  Reputation: 121

5Likes

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:38 AM