Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


2 parameters having same address


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 F1rst_Unicorn   Members   -  Reputation: 104

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:32 PM

hey everyone, 

I have encountered a quite strange error. I have been working on my first little rpg and had never a problem with this function before

but since having made several changes in other positions my args width and height in init_system(int, int) are not defined correctly (having undetermined values) and also have the same address in memory-.-

 

EDIT: I'm using MS VC++ 2010 and ALLEGRO 5.0.8 for my program. 

 

Here the main file, other files may follow as necessary:





#include <cstdio>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <cstring>
#include <allegro5/allegro.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro_native_dialog.h>
#include <allegro5\allegro_image.h>
#include <string>
#include <vector>
#include <algorithm>
#include <fstream>
#include "GraphicsLibrary.h"
#include "Tile.h"
#include "Player.h"


using namespace std;

#define FPS 60


int init_system(int, int);
void tidy_up();
void drawScene();
void check_key(int);
void proceed_key();

ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display = NULL;
ALLEGRO_EVENT_QUEUE *event_queue = NULL;
ALLEGRO_TIMER *timer = NULL;
bool keys[ALLEGRO_KEY_MAX];

Tile *currentRegion;
Player *player;
const int SCREEN_WIDTH = 1920;
const int SCREEN_HEIGHT = 1080;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{

	bool redraw = true;
   
    if (init_system(1920, 1080) == -1){
		system("pause");
	    return -1;
	}
	

    while(1){
	   ALLEGRO_EVENT ev;
	   al_wait_for_event(event_queue, &ev);

	   if (ev.type == ALLEGRO_EVENT_TIMER){
		   redraw = true;
	   }
	   else if (ev.type == ALLEGRO_EVENT_DISPLAY_CLOSE){
		   break;
	   }
	   else if (ev.type == ALLEGRO_EVENT_KEY_DOWN){
		   check_key(ev.keyboard.keycode);
	   }

	   if (redraw && al_is_event_queue_empty(event_queue)){
		   redraw = false;
		   drawScene();
		   al_flip_display();
	   }

	   proceed_key();
	   al_rest(0.01);

	}


	
	tidy_up();
}



int init_system(int width, int height){

	if(!al_init()) {
      fprintf(stderr, "failed to initialize allegro!\n");
      return -1;
   }
 
	if (!al_install_keyboard()){
		fprintf(stderr, "failed to initialize the keyboard!\n");
		return -1;
	}
 
	if (al_show_native_message_box(display, 
		"3DPogramming", 
		"Fullscreen", 
		"Do you want to launch in fullscreen mode?", 
		NULL, 
		ALLEGRO_MESSAGEBOX_YES_NO) == 1)
			al_set_new_display_flags(ALLEGRO_FULLSCREEN);


   display = al_create_display(width, height);
   if(!display) {
      fprintf(stderr, "failed to create display!\n");
      return -1;
   }
 
    event_queue = al_create_event_queue();
    if (!event_queue){
	    fprintf(stderr, "failed to create event queue!\n");
	    al_destroy_display(display);
	    return -1;
    }

    timer = al_create_timer(1.0 / FPS);
    if (!timer){
	    fprintf(stderr, "failed to create timer!\n");
	    al_destroy_display(display);
	    al_destroy_event_queue(event_queue);
    }

	if (!al_init_image_addon()){
		fprintf(stderr, "failed to init image addon!\n");
		al_destroy_display(display);
		al_destroy_event_queue(event_queue);
		al_destroy_timer(timer);
	}
   
    al_register_event_source(event_queue, al_get_display_event_source(display));

    al_register_event_source(event_queue, al_get_timer_event_source(timer));

    al_register_event_source(event_queue, al_get_keyboard_event_source());

    al_start_timer(timer);

	GraphicsLibrary::create();
	
	currentRegion = new CapitalCity();
	player = new Player();

    return 0;
}

void tidy_up(){
	al_destroy_timer(timer);
	al_destroy_display(display);
	al_destroy_event_queue(event_queue);
	al_shutdown_image_addon();
	exit(0);
}

void drawScene(){
	currentRegion->drawGround(player->getX(), player->getY());
	player->draw(SCREEN_WIDTH / 2, SCREEN_HEIGHT / 2);



}

void check_key(int kc){
	keys[kc] = true;

	return;
}

void proceed_key(){
	if (keys[ALLEGRO_KEY_ESCAPE]){
		keys[ALLEGRO_KEY_ESCAPE] = false;
		tidy_up();
	}
}





Edited by F1rst_Unicorn, 21 June 2013 - 01:35 PM.


Sponsor:

#2 Paradigm Shifter   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5112

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:49 PM

What problem are you having? The values you pass are literals so shouldn't have the same address. However, if you never take the address the compiler may never allocate storage for them and they may not display the correct values in the debugger.

 

If you force the compiler to evaluate the literals e.g. printing them out, taking their address and doing something with them you may get different results.


"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

#3 F1rst_Unicorn   Members   -  Reputation: 104

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:00 PM

I discovered this as the root of my runtime crash. when trying to create a fullscreen display with e.g. 18361474x18361474 px it simply does nothing.

So I debugged the program step by step and tried to change the values of width and height on runtime inside the debugger. When changing one of the two

the other changes simultanously and so i found out using the debugger they have the same address in the stackframe of the function init_system(int, int). 

And my question is: why?!?! that's simply not possible

So my two problems are:

1. undetermined value of width and height

2. same address in memory



#4 cdoty   Members   -  Reputation: 431

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:30 PM

Something might be corrupting the stack pointer. If the stack pointer is pointing at a bad location, the operating system might throw an exception error and neither value could be determined.

 

Using the stack frame, the compiler would know to look at the next sack position for height, so that doesn't make sense. I can't remember what order the parameters are pushed but you would end up with something like this on the stack:

sp-12: height

sp-8: width

sp-4: saved PC

 

If it was just referring to the same value, it should show 1920 for both.

 

Another idea, if you're compiling in release mode, you can't trust what the compiler is showing you. Optimization can make it hard for the debugger to determine where things are pointing.


Edited by cdoty, 21 June 2013 - 06:31 PM.

Check out Super Play, the SNES inspired Game Engine: http://www.superplay.info


#5 F1rst_Unicorn   Members   -  Reputation: 104

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:06 AM

that's what I thought as well

 

I actually am compiling in release mode, so that means I cannot take the debugger information for absolutely true?

Then the error may be at a completely different location...



#6 Paradigm Shifter   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5112

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:17 AM

Don't debug in release mode unless you have a problem which only happens in release mode.


"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

#7 F1rst_Unicorn   Members   -  Reputation: 104

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 June 2013 - 04:21 AM

when using the debug mode the debugger and the program work without any problems. and since having worked on other issues the release mode also works as wanted^^

thanks for that hint :)



#8 Waterlimon   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2350

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 June 2013 - 04:27 AM

Turn warnings to level 4 in the project settings and fix everything suspicious. Ice had some bugs because nonstandard extensions were used by the compiler, although it worked well at first.

Waterlimon (imagine this is handwritten please)


#9 Adam_42   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2361

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 June 2013 - 08:56 AM

One thing that does tend to be visible to the debugger in release mode is global variables. It can be helpful to copy things you want to see into a global temporarily to help debug them. If you want to be really sure make the globals volatile so the compiler can't optimize away the writes to them.

 

Also be aware that in release mode uninitialized variables will have a different value to debug. The compiler will generally catch that problem for local variables and issue a warning, but it probably won't for class members, or anything allocated from the heap.

 

If that doesn't help you're going to want to learn to read disassembly so you can work out which register or memory address the compiler has put the data you want to see in. There's a guide to that at: http://www.altdevblogaday.com/2013/05/03/cc-low-level-curriculum-part-11-inheritance/ (that article has links to most of the parts, but you want to start with part 1).






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS