• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Web Developer Instrested In developing Games

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 Mithu Developer   Members   -  Reputation: 109

0Likes

Posted 30 June 2013 - 11:39 AM

Hi ,

I am a Web developer and instrested in developing games for all platforms.. I dont know how to start in with game development.

I know HTML, CSS, PHP & JAVASCRIPT and little bit of mySql .. Can anyone help me..

Sponsor:

#2 SillyCow   Members   -  Reputation: 883

2Likes

Posted 30 June 2013 - 01:41 PM

What kind of game do you wish to develop?

With your skill-set, there are two types of games you should try to develop:

1. Tic Tac Toe - Website using PHP and cookies.

or:

2. Pong using Javascript and HTML5 Canvas.

If you are going with 2, I suggest you learn how to use JavaScript really well. Doing games requires more knowledge than web-forms.

Here is a very simple link to something almost game-like: http://sixrevisions.com/html/bouncing-a-ball-around-with-html5-and-javascript/

Here is a more complicated link with user input: http://cssdeck.com/labs/ping-pong-game-tutorial-with-html5-canvas-and-sounds

Disclosure, I've never used these specific link, I just searched google for "HTML5 pong" and verified that the explanations seem legit.

The one problem with canvas though, is that it works kinda slow on Androids. So don't expect your first games to be multi-platform. Also, HTML renderers on all mobile platforms are weak relative to native code. But since you allready know HTML, it will be an easy landing for you.

My new android game : Enemies of the Crown

My previous android game : Killer Bees

#3 Nishant95   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes