• Create Account

Recommended SDL beginners books

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 VaugeCookie   Members   -  Reputation: 303

0Likes

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:48 AM

hi people, your friendly neighbourhood noob here, 

i am currently learning C++ via home study courses and i have come across SDL from various peoples threads etc,

im now going to womble off and buy my 2nd book.... and 1st SDL book i have seen a few good looking ones out there and although you can never have to much literature, you can have not enough money, 

i have grasped the basics of C++, i can read and understand code basics, and have dabbled in a few coding example but nothing graphical

what book would u fine people recommend to add to my collection? bearing in mind i am noobier then noob

thanks in advanced

Sponsor:

#2 Sunda   Members   -  Reputation: 330

1Likes

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:25 AM

You can always try the good old classic:

http://lazyfoo.net/SDL_tutorials/

#3 VaugeCookie   Members   -  Reputation: 303

0Likes

Posted 03 July 2013 - 10:56 AM

yeah i am working my way through them now,

this is what has sparked my interest in getting some decent books on the subject

#4 minibutmany   Members   -  Reputation: 1471

1Likes

Posted 03 July 2013 - 05:54 PM

SDL Game Development

Focus on SDL

I haven't read either of these books, they are just the two first on amazon.

The first book has no reviews yet, the second book has a few, but people tend to say that it leaves a lot of holes, but that shouldn't be too much of an issue since you are using the online tutorials along with the book.

Stay gold, Pony Boy.

#5 VaugeCookie   Members   -  Reputation: 303

0Likes

Posted 05 July 2013 - 12:21 AM