• Create Account

Programming the right way?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 RichardMountain   Members   -  Reputation: 125

1Likes

Posted 17 July 2013 - 11:05 AM

Greetings all,

This is my first post here, and I suppose the write place to be asking,

I've been programming for several years but I would describe myself as a hack and slash programmer, with buggy code and not very well written.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to coding the right way with less bugs and more reliability?

My preferred learning platform is visual and audio :)

I mainly program in vb6 and vb.net but am currently learning c++ I don't know if the proper technique can be applied across all languages or whether there is a proper way to do each one?

Any help/links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

Sponsor:

#2 tharealjohn   Members   -  Reputation: 451

8Likes

Posted 17 July 2013 - 12:45 PM

Hey Richard,

I always like these kinds of questions, and I ask it about myself all the time. For me, the best way to gain the information you are looking for was to work with/learn from other more experienced developers and see what they do. I also browse code on projects that are more "mature" and have industry experienced professionals writing it. Take a look at some major open source projects in the language of your choice. You may be able to pick up some patterns and ideas that make you say "Oh, I wouldnt have thought to do it this way". It might also help you if when you feel you have some problem code to post it here and ask for input. I have seen many devs on here give some valuable feedback on how to organize or refactor things. 

Sorry I don't have any books or visual aids that have helped me. =(