• Create Account

Rendering a texture

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 schupf   Members   -  Reputation: 216

0Likes

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:20 AM

Hello!

I am very new to OpenGL and have a basic problem: I want to render 2 quads each with its own texture.

First I have an init function which loads the texture, generates the texture IDs and uploads the texture:

void initTex(TexObj& texObj, const char* imageFilename) // Images are .xpm files
{
   QImage image = QImage(imageFilename);
    texObj.w = image.width();
    texObj.h = image.height();

QImage glImage;
    glImage = QGLWidget::convertToGLFormat(image);

char* data = static_cast<char*>( calloc( texObj.w *  texObj.h, 4) ); 
    memcpy(data, glImage.bits(), texObj.w * texObj.h * 4);

texObj.data = data
    glGenTextures(1, &texObj.texID);
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texObj.texID);
    glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, texObj.w, texObj.h, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,  texObj.data);
}

Function initTex is called 2 times (for 2 different textures).

To render the 2 quads I use this function:

static void draw(TexObj& tex, float scale)
{
    glEnable(GL_CULL_FACE);
    glEnable( GL_TEXTURE_2D );
    glFrontFace( GL_CCW );

glActiveTexture( GL_TEXTURE0 );
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, tex.texID);

// glTexImage2D( GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, tex->w, tex->h, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, tex->data );

glTexParameterf (GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR) ;
    glTexParameterf (GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR) ;
    glTexEnvf (GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_MODULATE) ; 

glTranslated( 0.0, 0.0, 0.0 );
    glScalef( scale, scale, 1.0f );

glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT, GL_FILL);
    glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
        glTexCoord2f( 0.0, 0.0 );
        glVertex2d(0.0, 1.0);