Weary Travellers [New Composition]

Started by
3 comments, last by m4uesviecr 10 years, 8 months ago

Hello, I've been working on a few different projects and I just finished a new piece that I'm fairly satisfied with, you can find it here. I'd like some feedback on it; comments/criticism, etc. I've named it 'Weary Travellers', as this song has sort of been an outlet for some of the stresses I've been dealing with lately. I still need to master it, however, it doesn't sound too shabby in its current form. I think it'd make a good title theme or something along those lines.

I'm new to the forums, so I'd also like to say hello and introduce myself to everybody as well. The reason I'm coming here is because the forums that I used to post all my tracks to for feedback has become over-ridden with self-advertisers and I'm sick of it. I can't get a word of critique out of them anymore, and because I'm self-taught, this is really the only way I can grow as an artist.

Regardless, let me know what you guys think. :)

Advertisement

I like the percussive groove/intro but some of your patches feel like they stick out a bit. Especially when the strings come in - the production doesn't sound like it's being performed in the same space... or at the same time. The solo violin is really too dry. Considering adding some reverb and slight delay to help hide some of the MIDI-tastic elements of that track.

Also, I felt the overall intensity and volume of the track remained pretty stagnant. Some tempo variations could also help.

It has some great potential and foundation, just needs a bit more love on the production side!

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

I absolutely love the rhythms playing in the drums.

My comments play a lot off of what Madsen said. For the percussion, there are different elements that seem much drier than others.