• Create Account

Perfect Directory Structure for Game + Tools

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 ShyGuy92   Members   -  Reputation: 157

0Likes

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:20 PM

Hello Guys,

I am an experienced C++ programmer and have been using several project structures, like simple src and obj folders and using the command line, default structures provided by IDEs such as the Code::Blocks, etc. With my experience the complexity of my projects grow and again I am thinking of an efficient directory structure for my projects... of course I have already searched the internet, but I didn't find any examples perfectly fitting my needs... so I think, I show you my beta structure to gather opinions, modification and improvment suggestions.

My structure is of course meant to be used for developing platform independent games (mostly basing on SDL, SFML etc.). In addition, most of my projects would also need tools (either command lines, or GUI using Qt) for level editing, file converting etc. Here is my current structure (EDITED):

bin/
    └ [the executable file (Windows, Linux, ...) including DLLs (Windows)]
    share/
    └ [project-title]/
      └ [all program data, like graphics, level files, etc.]
    src/
    └ [program or tool name]/ [for project specific libraries: lib*]
      └ forms/
        │ └ *.ui [QtDesigner files => ../../../build/[program-name]/ui/ui_*.h]
        ├ *.cpp [=> ../../build/[program-name]/deps/[debug/release]/*.d; ../../build/[program-name]/obj/[debug/release]/*.o]
        ├ *.h
        └ *.rc [Windows Resource script for version information => ../../build/[program-name]/obj/[debug/release]/*.o]
    lib/
    └ lib*.a, lib*-d.a [second one for debugging]
    include/ [project specific libraries' includes]
    └ [library name]/
      └ *.h