• Create Account

First game project, a 2D platformer.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 EBBLER   Members   -  Reputation: 118

0Likes

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:59 AM

Hello gamedev.net users,

i want to make a video game. The objective of my new project is to make a 2D platformer game with a lot of action (a dude that shoots everything to smitherness and the environment/enemies should be random generated). My experience: i graduated as bachelor of science this week..i coded some plugins and stand alone tools in C++ and java. I can code new challenges pretty easily but often my code is a mess and its not really resource efficient..but thats a story i want to improve when i start my first 3D game ;-).

I choose C++ as programming language, since i think that C++ is the king of the languages and in some point in my life i need to tame this king. I dont want to argue which language is the best..i just coded a lot in C++ lately and wanted to use it. I started a new project in C++ and just linked the SFML library with cmake. All i did uptil now is creating a window, drawing the player sprites in it and let it move with the arrow keys.. a simple hand-made collision detection lets the sprite stay in the window.

To my actual Question : i dont wan to reinvent the wheel. Of course i want to learn a lot, but i think i should not code a complete 2D physics engine or something like this....What are good C++ libraries i can use for a 2D platformer? 

Furthermore i struggle a bit with the order of how to implement things..should i implement jumping first or the actual ground he can walk on? How to implement "falling" ? Those are some really simple questions, i really need little head bump..

Sponsor:

#2 PeterStock   Members   -  Reputation: 390

2Likes