• Create Account

Proper use of VAO

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
17 replies to this topic

#1 B_old   Members   -  Reputation: 668

0Likes

Posted 22 August 2013 - 05:00 AM

I have some experience with D3D11 but am currently looking into OpenGL.

I noticed that in OpenGL both the vertex buffers and the vertex layout are encapsulated together in a vertex array object.

Suppose I have a properly set up VAO and now decide that I want to use different vertex buffers that contain data in the same layout as before. At first I though I have to create a new VAO for this.

But then I stumbled over this quote in a text about vertex specifiation:

Better yet, if you want to use the same format but move the buffer around, it only takes one function call; namely glBindVertexBuffer with a buffer binding of 0. [...] Note again that all of the above state is still VAO state. It is all encapsulated in vertex array objects.
regarding the usage of glVertexAttribBinding and glVertexAttribFormat. So I assume there muss be a better way.

My new theory on the proper usage of VAO is that I set them up with glVertexAttribFormat according to my vertex layout once and when I want switch buffers I bind the VAO but only change the glVertexAttribBinding.
Is this correct?

Sponsor:

#2 LorenzoGatti   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2762

0Likes

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:54 AM

Phrases like "move the buffer around" and "switch buffers" and "proper usage" are vaguer than they seem, considering that vertex array objects are an entirely optional superstructure to organize buffers and other objects: you can put into a VAO the vertex drawing state that used to be global, with a few new VAO-aware functions.