Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Need advice to create a grid that follow a terrain


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 metalchouchen   Members   -  Reputation: 228

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 August 2013 - 03:48 PM

Hello,

 

I'm looking for some tips to reproduce a grid like this screenshot (take from Blackguards http://www.daedalic.de/en/game/Blackguards#1).

 

 

Blackguards_1021005.png

 

If someone has an idea ? I thinks the grid is made by procedural generation, but I don't know how they can do to follow the terrain like that.

 

Thanks for any answer!



Sponsor:

#2 R-type   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 August 2013 - 08:22 PM

I can think of several ways to do this all depending on the amount and sizes of the maps:

 

The grid is most likely "fixed" meaning that the center of the grid is always at 0,0,0 in world space

 

- manual: simplest, make an editor where you can "mark" cells to be usable in the game

 

- semi/manual: make an editor where you mark areas (similar to collision/nav meshes) that can be used in the game, then the editor will figure out which cells fully fit inside those meshes. You could do this by checking for every cell if all 6 points are inside.

 

- automatic: the editor figures out what areas of of the visual meshes are around a certain height and then figures out which cells fully fit in there

 

Last 2 could be combined with the first to correct miscalculations by hand.


Edited by R-type, 30 August 2013 - 08:23 PM.


#3 radioteeth   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1142

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 31 August 2013 - 05:39 AM

just use a tiling grid texture drawn using the terrain geometry.



#4 metalchouchen   Members   -  Reputation: 228

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:49 AM

Ok,

 

If I understand well, there is only one terrain mesh with a ground texture + a grid texture on it ?

 

That I'm not understand is why the grid recover some stone over this ground ?

 

Blackguards_1021005.png



#5 GuardianX   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1522

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 31 August 2013 - 02:27 PM

Because it is probably a projected texture.



#6 metalchouchen   Members   -  Reputation: 228

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:58 AM

Thanks GuardianX,

 

I'm starting making some test on unity3d (http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Components/class-Projector.html) I've some shader problem but I think it's the solution too.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS