• Create Account

Replacement for Xna?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Zeffrit   Members   -  Reputation: 119

0Likes

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:08 PM

Hello,

I am a somewhat intermediate C# programmer. I've been looking into xna because I want to get into using graphics. I hear xna is really good and easy to learn. However, I also hear Microsoft has abandoned xna, and stopped supporting it. Is it a bad idea to learn xna when it's been dropped by Microsoft? Would there be a better route to take to learn graphics programming? I like working on 2D games. I am not interested in 3D the least bit, so 2D support is the max for me. I'm not sure if it would be best to go down to the base and try learning DirectX it's self, or perhaps there is a better option? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Sponsor:

#2 Endurion   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3683

1Likes

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:45 PM

XNA doesn't stop working just because there's no more support for it. It's a mature, working API and will continue working for a while.

You could however look into Monogame, which is a open replacement for XNA (even tries to rebuild the API 1:1) and is properly updated.

Fruny: Ftagn! Ia! Ia! std::time_put_byname! Mglui naflftagn std::codecvt eY'ha-nthlei!,char,mbstate_t>

#3 runonthespot   Members   -  Reputation: 169

0Likes

Posted 31 August 2013 - 04:24 AM

There's always Unity (noting that the next version out in a month or two includes native 2d tools).

Nice thing about Unity is that you can run your game on just about anything.

#4 Bitbridge   Members   -  Reputation: 185

0Likes

Posted 31 August 2013 - 05:53 AM