• Create Account

coin flip problem

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
30 replies to this topic

#1 Mr Stx   Members   -  Reputation: 116

1Likes

Posted 11 September 2013 - 09:24 AM

Hi all i'm new, I started learning a week or so ago and have joined to the forum so I can get some help and eventually contribute to the community. I am reading a number of books and online guides and have come across a problem I cannot solve when creating a simple coin flip randomizer.

#include <ctime>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int choice;

int randRange (int low, int high)
{
        return rand() % ( high - low ) + low;
    }

int main ()
{

cout << "flip a coin? \n\n1: Yes\n\n2: No\n";
 cin >> choice;
 if (choice == 1)
    {

srand ( time( NULL ) );
            randRange( 1 , 10 );
            if (randRange >= 5)
            {
                cout << "Heads";
            }
else
            {
            cout << "Tails";
            }
    }
else if (choice == 2)
            {
            cout << "Boooo";
            return 0;
            }

}

I am getting a error on the if (randRange >= 5) line, the compiler says that c++ forbids a comparison between pointer and integer, but as far as I am aware I am not using a pointer.

reply's would be gratefully welcomed.

Sponsor:

#2 CaptainKraft   Members   -  Reputation: 265

3Likes

Posted 11 September 2013 - 09:31 AM

My experience with C++ is pretty limited but I think I might be able to help here.