• Create Account

Wander behaviour in 3D

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 sheep19   Members   -  Reputation: 388

1Likes

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:14 AM

Hi,

I am implementing a Wander behaviour. In the book I am studying (AI for games), the author uses a 2.5D world.

So what he does is:

Set a circle around the player and put a target that moves on edge of the circle. Then use Seek behaviour to get to it.

The problem is that I am in full 3D, so I need something more than a circle. I (naturally) tried a sphere, but I want to be able to define different rotation angles (i.e I want the character to rotate more left/right thatn up/down).

As a sphere is defined by two angles (theta and phi), I tried to use a larger value for one of the two to see what happens. But the position of the target depends on both the two angles, so it didn't turn up like I wanted to.

This is what I am currently doing:

public SteeringOutput GetSteering()
	{
		SteeringOutput steering = new SteeringOutput();

// set linear velocity at the direction we are moving
		steering.linearVel = character.Transform().forward;

// the velocity is along this direction, at full speed
		steering.linearVel.Normalize();
		steering.linearVel *= maxAcceleration;

theta += Util.RandomBinomial() * maxAngle;
		phi += Util.RandomBinomial() * maxAngle ;

var pos = character.Transform().position;
		pos.x += circleRadius * Mathf.Cos(theta * Mathf.Deg2Rad) * Mathf.Sin(phi * Mathf.Deg2Rad);
		pos.y += circleRadius * Mathf.Sin(theta * Mathf.Deg2Rad) * Mathf.Sin(phi * Mathf.Deg2Rad);
		pos.z += circleRadius * Mathf.Cos(phi * Mathf.Deg2Rad);

target.Transform().position = pos;

steering = seek.GetSteering();

return steering;
	}

What can I do to get the effect I want?

Sponsor: