[Solved] Crossroad. HGE or SDL?

Started by
9 comments, last by bratiefanut 10 years, 6 months ago

Hello,

I am kinda new to game programming so I am here to ask for some advices. I want to be a game developer and I love games and programming.

I have the required brain and motivation but my question is: which game library i should use if I want to make a kind of strategy game like Smurfs Village for example?

I am used to HGE and I've made some games with this library.

SDL is something new for me but I done a Snake game with the help of a tutorial.

I am more confortable with hge by the way and I am not interested in cross platform development.

Can you provide me an opinion?

Here are some screen shoots of my work:

Explorer's League[hge]

[attachment=18162:explorers league.PNG]

Space King I[hge]

[attachment=18163:space king i.PNG]

Coin Collector[hge]

[attachment=18165:coin collector.PNG]

Snake[sdl]

[attachment=18164:snake.PNG]

EDIT: sorry for my bad englishsad.png

"Don't gain the world and lose your soul. Wisdom is better than silver or gold." - Bob Marley

Advertisement

Looking at HGE, which I assume is Haaf's Game Engine, and it's demos \ games pages you should be able to use HGE to make a Smurfs Village clone.

In my opinion, use what you know and is easier to use.

Engineering Manager at Deloitte Australia

Looking at HGE, which I assume is Haaf's Game Engine, and it's demos \ games pages you should be able to use HGE to make a Smurfs Village clone.

In my opinion, use what you know and is easier to use.

Yes, HGE = Haaf's Game Engine. I forgot to mention that. Thank you for your opinion.

"Don't gain the world and lose your soul. Wisdom is better than silver or gold." - Bob Marley