dos memory allocation (ASM)

Started by
9 comments, last by Ravyne 10 years, 6 months ago

Hi, im new to asm. I decided to improve my skills by programming for dos. So,now im stuck with 48h function(int 21h) - memory allocation. What is its internal implementation like? I mean, how does dos choose segment address for memory block having been allocated? How can it get to know if any block isn't free?
The only thing i know about memory allocation is 'new' from cpp which returns pointer to object located in memory sad.png

[spoiler]sorry for my English[/spoiler]

Sorry for my English.

Advertisement
Programming against 16-bit segmented memory models may be educational and fun, and perhaps even slightly useful if you want to do retro-computing work, but for the most part if you want to learn modern assembly language it's a total waste of time.

What's your end goal with learning ASM?

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

Hi, im new to asm. I decided to improve my skills by programming for dos. So,now im stuck with 48h function(int 21h) - memory allocation. What is its internal implementation like? I mean, how does dos choose segment address for memory block having been allocated? How can it get to know if any block isn't free?
The only thing i know about memory allocation is 'new' from cpp which returns pointer to object located in memory sad.png

[spoiler]sorry for my English[/spoiler]

So, there are a few things here:

1. For learning modern assembly, or even embedded assembly, 16 bit DOS is not the way to go. If you really want to learn some embedded assembly, pickup an arduino/propeller/arm educational board and get started there. If your goal is to learn modern assembly, then you're in for a rocky road, but you should get started on the x64 end of things, as it gives you significantly more registers to play with.