• Create Account

Unit Testing ftw?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
36 replies to this topic

#1 Malabyte   Members   -  Reputation: 583

0Likes

Posted 10 October 2013 - 08:30 AM

Hey peeps, I thought I'd ask your opinions about this video, where the presenter talks about deeper testing methodology and specifically about unit testing. I think this is fundamentally going to improve my programming routines, and maybe it will help you as well, even if you're a semi-seasoned programmer:

Feel free to give some feedback and perhaps critique. It'd be nice to see some different perspectives on unit testing versus overall systems testing.

Edited by Malabyte, 10 October 2013 - 08:32 AM.

- Awl you're base are belong me! -

- I don't know, I'm just a noob -

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 18390

8Likes

Posted 10 October 2013 - 09:30 AM

It is a cost/benefit analysis.

It is well documented that the initial cost to write automated unit tests is almost equal to the cost of writing the software when the two are written at the same time. The cost is potentially much higher if the tests are added after initial development. Drawn as a graph, the development costs look like a right-skewed distribution with a very long tail. The benefit comes in the long tail of support; during maintenance all the prior issues are immediately regressed. Often the break-even point is not reached until several years of maintenance.

For libraries that will be used extensively by many products, or shared between studios, or released publicly, or used for many years, then yes, unit tests generally make sense. The cost to manually test and verify after every change is often greater than the cost to create the automated tests.