• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

OpenGL & Rotation Matices

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 Blind1992   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 11 October 2013 - 05:55 AM

Edited by Blind1992, 11 October 2013 - 02:25 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 apatriarca   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1770

0Likes

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:07 AM

Matrix product is not implemented as component-wise multiplication.. 

#3 Blind1992   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:10 AM

Matrix product is not implemented as component-wise multiplication..

Thanks for the reply, however I'm not quite sure what you mean, Im pretty new to OpenGL, and C++ for that matter. I've simply tried following tutorials, but adapt them to my matrix class. Could you elaborate please?

Many thanks

#4 Brother Bob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 8566

1Likes

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:17 AM

What he's saying is that, if you have two matrices, then to multiply them you don't just take the individual components and multiply them. That is effectively what you're doing when you multiply the elements of CameraMatrix1 by the sine and cosine factors that make up the rotation matrix. Matrix multiplication is much more complex that that.

You need to read up on linear algebra, or at least matrix math. A quick search for matrix multiplication reveals plenty of sources.

#5 Blind1992   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 11 October 2013 - 06:27 AM