• Create Account

Game Server Design Questions

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 Keith_C   Members   -  Reputation: 103

0Likes

Posted 21 October 2013 - 05:04 AM

Hello,

I am fairly new to the world of game development, but I have made a few simple games. So I thought it might be fun to make a networked game, and perhaps even fully flesh out to a high quality product. So guess I will start out by saying what kind of game I wish to make, and that is a online customizable card game. I would like the client to run android/ios/linux/windows/mac or extremely cross platform. I have yet really code anything up and I am primarily in my research phases. So I mainly have questions, and particularly about the design and common implementation of networked games.

I will say I want my server run/compile on both windows and Linux. However, I am not sure if this would be best use of my development time as I could just design the server to run on Linux. I have looked at the system socket calls of most nix systems and windows. There appears to be a fair amount of overlap so writing a cross platform socket implementation/wrapper does not appear to be hard. (But I know when it comes to porting the devil is in the fine details, like structs may be laid out differently ect...). I am also afraid if a I write a wrapper it may lead to some bugs I would be unaware about as I have not done a ton socket programming. I could also use a library, but I am not fan libraries, unless it is something I can easily replace it with another library if one is a problem.