Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Techno-Babble screens


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Hawkblood   Members   -  Reputation: 722

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 04:04 PM

I am currently working on "techno-babble screens". Here is an example of what I have:

testImage.png

It is made with an off-screen render target that I write text and sprites to with some animation.....

 

Does anyone have any tips on how to make it more "busy"????



Sponsor:

#2 fastcall22   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4031

Like
9Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 04:11 PM

Scanlines?
Multiple windows?
Graphs?
Charts?
Hex dump?
A 3d wireframe model spinning in the background, with those little lines that point out to text highlighting important details?


... Porn?
c3RhdGljIGNoYXIgeW91cl9tb21bMVVMTCA8PCA2NF07CnNwcmludGYoeW91cl9tb20sICJpcyBmYXQiKTs=

#3 Paradigm Shifter   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5152

Like
3Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 04:11 PM

Flashing lights, lots of pop up windows, etc.?


"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

#4 NightCreature83   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2674

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 05:06 PM

Make the text move so keep adding lines, maybe with different color text or commands, but generally movement on these screens will make them look busier than they are :).


Worked on titles: CMR:DiRT2, DiRT 3, DiRT: Showdown, GRID 2, Mad Max

#5 Hawkblood   Members   -  Reputation: 722

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 06:49 PM


Make the text move so keep adding lines

The text is actually a segment of code in the game. I have 180 lines of it that scrolls up the screen. The bar graphs randomly go up and down.

 

I like the suggestions. I just don't want to put so much stuff that it takes up too many processor cycles.....





Posted Today, 06:11 PM

Scanlines

What do you mean by "scanlines"?

I have the "wireframe model" already-- it's just for another screen.

 

How would you do a popup window?



#6 TheUnnamable   Members   -  Reputation: 762

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2013 - 07:43 PM

If you *really* don't want to put too much CPU into these screens, you can always just pre-render your stuff offline.

E.g. you can render lots of source code into a small texture ( e.g. using a 3x4 sized font, you can fit 256x256 characters into an 1024x1024 texture ), and the same with hexdumps. You can write a smaller piece of code rendering some randomgenerated mesh and highlighting some vertices on it, adding a few bits of random text at the left side ( just make the line-lengths feel natural, it looks weird when there's too much difference in linelengths ), make your animation loopable and then pre-render it into images. I'd suggest low framerates.

Voi'la, you now have lots of screens rendering simple textures. Heavier on memory, lighter on CPU. Of course, you can use hybrid approaches too.



#7 Hawkblood   Members   -  Reputation: 722

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 October 2013 - 02:16 PM

Here is a video of what I have. It shows the babble screen at the end:

http://youtu.be/jeS6Vae5YnM



#8 phil_t   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3210

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 October 2013 - 11:04 PM

You might want to decrease the saturation on the babble screen or something. Right now it looks good, but it looks like it's actually part of the scene (instead of a screen in the scene). Scanlines would help, as would making it monochrome. (Google for "scanline effect" to see what people mean by scanelines).



#9 wodinoneeye   Members   -  Reputation: 679

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 31 October 2013 - 09:06 AM

Scrolling the target texture on the render -  if the content isnt readable the same static (multi page) texture could be reused and 'varied' a bit by x and/or y flopping  the texture coords, changing the scaling/colors/window onto the texture/flashing , etc....   Different overlays of graphs and thingees to the side.


--------------------------------------------Ratings are Opinion, not Fact




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS