• Create Account

Browser games magic

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 teckpow   Members   -  Reputation: 355

0Likes

Posted 01 November 2013 - 03:19 PM

Hi everyone! I am a web developer and I am quite interested in browser games. I would like to ask you where can I begin? I mean what is necessary to build one? I'm not asking for a guide on how to, but for kind of examples like what should I use and why. I saw some people basing their game entirely on Adobe Flash, others using only HTML5 magic with JS, so my question is which "tools" may I use to develop a browser game? Thanks in advance!
-teckpow

Sponsor:

#2 shadowisadog   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2563

5Likes

Posted 01 November 2013 - 07:23 PM

I am not entirely sure that I understand the question.

Both HTML5 and Flash are capable of creating browser based games. Both choices are fairly popular and both have advantages and disadvantages. Flash has been used for a ton of games but it limits options for Mobile, HTML5 is a big focus now but it can be slower than Flash (in my experience), ect.

Game Maker Studio and Construct 2 can both make HTML5 games.

I don't think I would use HTML5 directly, I would probably at least use some sort of game library like http://craftyjs.com/ or http://melonjs.org/index.html or http://jawsjs.com/.

Edited by shadowisadog, 01 November 2013 - 07:24 PM.

#3 Dragonsoulj   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2126

0Likes

Posted 01 November 2013 - 08:15 PM

All depends on what kind of game you want. If it is mostly text based and just a few images to display, you could just use X/HTML and some server side language like PHP. What kind of game are you wanting to make?

#4 HappyCoder   Members   -  Reputation: 2878

3Likes

Posted 01 November 2013 - 11:28 PM