Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


(X)SSetConstantBuffers1 - no luck?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 sepul   Members   -  Reputation: 257

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 11:48 AM

Hi,

I need to use some limited functionality of d3d11.1 under win7, but so far I had no luck

I've installed the win7 platform update and win8 sdk. Here's a snippet that I acquire d3d11.1 device :

dxhr = D3D11CreateDevice(adapter, D3D_DRIVER_TYPE_UNKNOWN, NULL, dev_flags,  
    NULL, 0, D3D11_SDK_VERSION, &dev, &ft_level, &ctx);  
ID3D11Device1* dev1;  
dxhr = dev->QueryInterface(__uuidof(ID3D11Device1), (void**)&dev1);  
dev->Release()  
D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL ft_level = dev1->GetFeatureLevel()  
...

The d3d11.1 objects are valid and working, but I can't use any d3d11.1 specific feature. The structure returned by CheckFeatureLevel(D3D11_FEATURE_D3D11_OPTIONS) is all FALSE and I can't run any d3d11.1 APIs without error (or d3d-debug complains)

For example my application is something like glMapBufferRange and glBindBufferRange on DX. (which existed since GL3), so I guess it's just a API/driver issue and doesn't rely on d3d11.1 hardware requirements.

 

But the support in the D3D11_FEATURE_D3D11_OPTIONS is not there and calling VSSetConstantBuffers1 leads to d3d complain "This current driver does not support constant buffer offsets"

 

In the d3d document for VSSetConstantBuffers it says: "This feature is always available on new drivers for feature level 10 and higher"

 

So, Am I missing something in the API ? or it's just lazy drivers from AMD ? (I'm using latest Catalyst 13.9 drivers on 5750 card)

 

 

 

 

 

 


dark-hammer engine - http://www.hmrengine.com


Sponsor:

#2 Migi0027   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1617

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 12:18 PM

What GPU do you have?

 

It may be that it simply doesn't have the capability of executing dx 10-11 commands.

 

EDIT:

 

As you said:

 

"This feature is always available on new drivers for feature level 10 and higher"

 

Either your GPU isn't capable of this, or you should update your driver, from NVIDIA.


Edited by Migi0027, 02 November 2013 - 12:20 PM.

Hi! Cuboid Zone
The Rule: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet, ohh, AND STEAL ALL ZE TRIANGLES FROM ZHEM!

#3 sepul   Members   -  Reputation: 257

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 01:20 PM

@migi: mentioned them in my first post.
amd 5950 card, win7, latest amd catalyst 13.9 drivers
gpu should be capable as described in d3d documentation

dark-hammer engine - http://www.hmrengine.com


#4 N.I.B.   Members   -  Reputation: 1163

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:01 PM

When you call D3D11CreateDevice, you pass NULL as the requested feature level array (5th param). You need to explicitly request D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_11_1, otherwise it will create 11.0 device.

Check D3D11CreateDevice() on MSDN.


Edited by N.I.B., 02 November 2013 - 02:03 PM.


#5 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10917

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:03 PM

I'm not sure if any drivers actually support that feature on Win7. I just checked on my 7950 and it also reports that constant buffer offsets aren't available. It's pretty frustrating, since it's the 1 feature from 11.1 that's supposed to be available on Win7.



#6 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10917

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:07 PM

When you call D3D11CreateDevice, what feature level do you request? You need to explicitly request D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_11_1, otherwise it will create 11.0 device.

Check D3D11CreateDevice() on MSDN.

 

FEATURE_LEVEL_11_1 isn't available at all on Win7. The platform update basically lets Win7 support the new interfaces, but none of the functionality. Basically, it's totally useless.



#7 N.I.B.   Members   -  Reputation: 1163

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:23 PM


FEATURE_LEVEL_11_1 isn't available at all on Win7. The platform update basically lets Win7 support the new interfaces, but none of the functionality. Basically, it's totally useless.

 

Some features are supported on Win7(MSDN), though it doesn't say how to create device that supports those features.


Edited by N.I.B., 02 November 2013 - 02:25 PM.


#8 sepul   Members   -  Reputation: 257

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 November 2013 - 04:46 AM

@MJP this sucks.

Isn't it because of AMD drivers ?


dark-hammer engine - http://www.hmrengine.com





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS