Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!


1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!


fmod with unity, anyone use yet?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 ArtificGames   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 06 November 2013 - 08:43 AM

Has anyone downloaded the "FMOD Studio Unity Integration" plugin from there site? And if so any good?
http://www.fmod.org/download/

Artific Games

http://artificgames.com


Sponsor:

#2 nsmadsen   Moderators   -  Reputation: 4929

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 06 November 2013 - 10:49 AM

I've used FMOD extensively from the content implementation side of things, not the programming (interfacing with Unity directly) side of things. But, I have quite a few programmer friends who have used FMOD and Unity. I could certainly ask them.


Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios

Denver, Colorado USA

#3 ArtificGames   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 07 November 2013 - 07:14 PM

just getting back into fmod now, big gui update since the last time i used it.


Artific Games

http://artificgames.com


#4 ArtificGames   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 November 2013 - 05:08 PM

We recently developed a simple prefab for untiy here is the tutorial of how it works.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pHWJRt0JuZg&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DpHWJRt0JuZg

Artific Games

http://artificgames.com


#5 Yrjö P.   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1416

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 December 2013 - 11:11 AM

Hi guys! My amateur team is trying to use the official Fmod Unity plugin to carry out the most basic of basics, but I have no Fmod knowledge, our sound artist who knows Fmod hasn't used Unity, and there's no official documentation yet.

 

What we have done is to place a FMOD_Listener at camera, and then from our game logic, grab the StudioSystem instance and do fmod.PlayOneShot(). This works for individual sounds. We also get background music by having a Studio Event Emitter at the same camera as the listener that starts playing on awake. But if I do something as simple as placing that same event emitter with the same asset on the player character instead, no sound comes out. I don't know how to stop and switch between sounds (e.g. for the background music). Ideally we'd like to be able to fade between different musics. Any pointers how we should do this? Either the "right way" or a "quick and dirty" way would be fine.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS