Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.


Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!


Lost my stylus


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 PragmaOnce   Members   -  Reputation: 755

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:32 AM

Hey guys.

 

Firstly let me start off by saying that I am by no means an artist, I just like drawing every now and then. I have this really old tablet that my father gave me that he found at work or something but I've managed to lose the stylus.

 

The type is a genius G-Pen M712X, the only way I can see to get the stylus is ordering from the genius shop online. The problem  is they don't ship to South Africa. I've searched Ebay/Amazon and nearly all those sites but I can't find a way to get the stylus.

 

So my question would be, will another stylus work? I know the pen has 1024 different pressure levels so would another stylus with the same specs work? Sorry if this question sounds completely stupid but I have no idea how tablets work :/



Sponsor:

#2 Kryzon   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 3314

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 09 November 2013 - 01:37 PM

Try this.

Genius website, "Where to Buy", Africa & Middle East (South Africa).

 

http://www.geniusnet.com/wSite/sp?xdUrl=/wSite/whereToBuy/whereToBuy.jsp&region=MEA&xAbstract=MEA59&mp=1

 

There are a few stores there, so you'll need to call them and see if they have a replacement pen for your tablet model.

If this doesn't lead to anywhere, we'll think of something else.

 

 

 

EDIT:

 

There's also this here (Monoprice Drawing Pen), for Monoprice tablets. The comments in this page suggest that it works for several other tablets, including G-Pen. Read the comments and see for yourself.

However, it's no guarantee that it will work with your particular model.

 

That Amazon seller does not ship to South Africa, but these eBay sellers do:

- http://www.ebay.com/itm/Graphic-Drawing-Tablet-Pen-/231088539105

- http://www.ebay.com/itm/Graphic-Drawing-Tablet-Pen-/140728259470


Edited by Kryzon, 09 November 2013 - 03:44 PM.


#3 Nypyren   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4823

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 09 November 2013 - 02:32 PM

While I can't help with this particular pen technology, I will say that I have three completely different Wacom-based tablets, and two of the pens are compatible, but one is NOT, despite them all looking pretty much the same in terms of features and physical size.

I haven't found any way to determine whether a particular pen is compatible with a particular tablet other than to try it out.

#4 PragmaOnce   Members   -  Reputation: 755

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 09 November 2013 - 02:42 PM

Thanks a lot!

 

The monoprice pen was exactly the kind of thing I was hoping to see. I am definitely going to take risk in buying it but i'd say it is worth it... what's the point of having a tablet if you can't do anything with it. Plus the reviews seem to indicate that I have a good chance of it actually working :)



#5 PragmaOnce   Members   -  Reputation: 755

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:31 AM

Just an update..

 

I finally got the pen. It's working, but I can't do anything with it tongue.png

The pen has the ability to move the cursor over the screen but only if i'm actually touching the pad or if it is literally 1 mm above the tablet. There is also no clicking/drawing.. So the full functionality of the pen is to move the cursor across the screen.

 

The funny thing is, windows keeps on installing a generic driver for the tablet. Even after disabling signature verification (just in case the driver is too old) it still goes and bloody installs its generic version. That might be the problem,I don't know. But I don't think I could fix it if I wanted to.


Edited by PragmaOnce, 02 December 2013 - 04:31 AM.


#6 BagelHero   Members   -  Reputation: 1482

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:41 PM

Definitely a driver issue. Could take some fiddling.

You've probably tried the latest official driver already, but just in case...
http://www.geniusnet.com/wSite/sp?xdUrl=/wSite/productDownload/download.jsp&ctNode=85&mp=1

Put the model name in the search bar, and I'd personally opt for the "V5.1" download. Just throw it over the top of the generic drivers windows installs and it SHOULD work. Good luck finding a fix, otherwise!






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS