Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


[GAME UPDATED] My first 3D game, Onslaught


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 15 November 2013 - 08:46 PM

GAME UPDATED

 

New Links
Onslaught for Windows
Onslaught for MacOS
Onslaught for Linux
Scripts (C#)

 

Fixes & Updates

--Added "Aim/Look" controls with mouse.  Left/Right Arrows now strafe rather than rotate.

--Added a per-session High-Score counter.

--Added more sound-effects (biting and hurt sounds)

--Added an attack animation to the zombies

--Changed "Shoot" control to Left Click.  Also, holding down Left-Click repeatedly shoots pistol.

--Changed the zombies walk animation.

--Zombies now should not get stuck

--Shooting repeatedly no longer lags game. 

--Fixed bug that caused player to raise into the ceiling

--Fixed bug that allowed killing zombies after being killed

 

Scheduled
---Difficulty too steep; pause before respawning; a break after killing X amount of zombies (Requested by several! First, O-san)

--Fix the cursor in "windowed" games to prevent it leaving the game screen.

--Much larger, open arena for players to explore and die in.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

I've updated my first 3D game, titled Onslaught.  It's made with Unity, and the premise is simple: Stay alive as long as possible. 

I'd love to have you all try it out, offer some suggestions, opinions, bug reports and some outside perspectives on the source scripts from some of you more experienced Unity Developers. 

 

Because this forums "code" option totally butchers the scripts when I copy them down, I'll be zipping all the *.cs into a download for you who would be generous enough to offer some advice and insight. (Note:  My faded logo scene works perfectly, as far as I know, so I won't bother with screenshots or source codes for it)..
  
Lastly, here are screenshots of the Start Menu and Game scenes to give you an idea of my hierarchies and so forth.
 
Start_Menu.jpg
Game_Scene.jpg
 


Edited by Aspirer, 19 November 2013 - 07:45 PM.


Sponsor:

#2 Tutorial Doctor   Members   -  Reputation: 1410

Posted 15 November 2013 - 09:02 PM

Hehe. Im dizzy after that one. The menu looks cool. It has the polish of Max Payne for the PC (Which I think is good). Quite obviously you have to working on the controls (can't aim). 

 

One of your zombies got stuck in a wall. haha. It also lagged quite a bit when pressing the spacebar in succession (perhaps the difference between an onkeyup and onkeydown function?) 

 

However! I think it is good for you doing it alone. You should look into modular design. Also, you can make a far better looking area quicker using Google Sketchup. Something like this:

 

Screenshot%20%28881%29.png


Edited by Tutorial Doctor, 15 November 2013 - 09:04 PM.

They call me the Tutorial Doctor.


#3 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 17 November 2013 - 06:00 PM

Game Updated; feedback would be appreciated.



#4 Zaoshi Kaba   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3629

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:53 AM

Not sure what's the cause but killing zombie (?) instantly spawns another one. Do spawn timers queue somehow? This causes number of zombies to go out of control way too quickly. Got 27 kills on 2nd attempt.



#5 CRYP7IK   Members   -  Reputation: 807

Posted 19 November 2013 - 04:13 AM

Nice work so far, but I think you are not resetting the cursor position as when I try and and rotate my view my mouse ends up right off the screen.


To accomplish great things we must first dream, then visualize, then plan...believe... act! - Alfred A. Montapert
Gold Coast Studio Manager, Lead Programmer and IT Admin at Valhalla Studios Bifrost.

#6 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 19 November 2013 - 06:58 AM

Not sure what's the cause but killing zombie (?) instantly spawns another one. Do spawn timers queue somehow? This causes number of zombies to go out of control way too quickly. Got 27 kills on 2nd attempt.

  
Actually that's how it's set so far. Starting with a max of 10 enemies, each spawns one. When you kill zombie, the max goes up one and each spawn point spawns one, up to the max.

After checking, I do think there's a bug making all of them spawn (probably increasing the max too much by some error)

Nice work so far, but I think you are not resetting the cursor position as when I try and and rotate my view my mouse ends up right off the screen.

You might be right, I've always played it full screen, so I haven't even checked on the cursors position lol.



Thanks both of you for taking some time to check it out!!!

#7 Brosepph   Members   -  Reputation: 118

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:31 PM

Yeah incredibly hard, haha. Would be awesome to slow the zombies down, and speed up the user a little bit. I really like it. 



#8 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 19 November 2013 - 07:56 PM

Definitely will do.  I'm planning to start adding all that this week, and more:

 

--Lower zombie spawn rates (keep the incrementing maximum, only have them timed rather than spawn instantly.

--Fix the issue with the cursor on "Windowed" mode

--Replace the small map with a full on, multi-level arena.  (More places for you to die in!

--Adding "Health" to the zombies (with head shots resulting in instant kills) --- This may take a while, I've never used colliders like this.

--The Fates will take away your unlimited ammunition... and place it on zombie corpses. ^_^

--Perhaps a second "hidden" weapon...



#9 Tutorial Doctor   Members   -  Reputation: 1410

Posted 25 November 2013 - 09:55 AM

Your host website is not letting me download the windows version anymore. 


They call me the Tutorial Doctor.


#10 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 25 November 2013 - 07:47 PM

Your host website is not letting me download the windows version anymore. 

 

 

Re-uploaded to THIS link



#11 HeroBiX   Members   -  Reputation: 124

Posted 26 November 2013 - 12:43 PM

Can you please upload new Mac version, the link dosn't work, only gets me to Onslaughts main site and please edit your first post with some imagire from the game =)



#12 Tutorial Doctor   Members   -  Reputation: 1410

Posted 27 November 2013 - 03:28 PM

For all files up to 20mb you can use Google Sites as a file host site. Also for larger files you could use Dropbox (Up to 2gb for free). I made a tutorial on how to use Google Sites as a file host site (this is what I do):

 

http://snapguide.com/guides/create-your-own-file-host-site/


They call me the Tutorial Doctor.


#13 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 27 November 2013 - 04:29 PM

Sometime over Thanksgiving weekend, I'll set up a webhost and bypass the whole issue, lol.



#14 Aspirer   Members   -  Reputation: 544

Posted 27 November 2013 - 07:36 PM

Actually, at this point, I may halt the project...  The map I'd spent the last week working on in Google Earth is no longer usable... I made corrections to it, and then found out that after the 8 hr. "Pro" trial expires, you can no longer export to FBX... I'll have to use Blender to convert everything, then manually add in my materials and textures again..  Ugh. lol



#15 silkroadgame   Members   -  Reputation: 211

Posted 27 November 2013 - 08:46 PM

Game arts are quite good so far,it must be a hard progress,keep going!


http://www.game-silkroad.com
info_game@silkroadcg.com


#16 Tutorial Doctor   Members   -  Reputation: 1410

Posted 27 November 2013 - 09:07 PM

Actually, at this point, I may halt the project...  The map I'd spent the last week working on in Google Earth is no longer usable... I made corrections to it, and then found out that after the 8 hr. "Pro" trial expires, you can no longer export to FBX... I'll have to use Blender to convert everything, then manually add in my materials and textures again..  Ugh. lol

You could use Autodesk FBX converter:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=20481519

 

If you can get an obj export it should work well. 


Edited by Tutorial Doctor, 27 November 2013 - 09:08 PM.

They call me the Tutorial Doctor.





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS