Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Publicly Host SDL_net Server


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 austinsheep   Members   -  Reputation: 177

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 November 2013 - 04:08 AM

I recently learned how to use SDL_net, but I only know how to run the server and client on the same computer.  How could I run it through my LAN? Or the internet? Would I need a dedicated server to run the server program publicly?



Sponsor:

#2 rpiller   Members   -  Reputation: 663

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 November 2013 - 07:49 AM

If you want to simulate how it would/should be in production a dedicated server would most likely be it. All you should have to do is change your client that's connecting to "localhost" (I assume) to connect to the dedicated servers IP address.



#3 hplus0603   Moderators   -  Reputation: 5155

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 28 November 2013 - 12:36 PM

The FAQ for this forum does give some pointers on "how do I host my game so that others can run it."

In general, you have to make sure that the machine that runs the server is visible to the greater internet, which generally means port forwarding from a firewall/router (in a residential setting) or some kind of hosted server.


enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };

#4 austinsheep   Members   -  Reputation: 177

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 November 2013 - 01:56 PM

Ah. Thanks. Its a pain to port forward with my router for some reason though. How would I run the server locally?

#5 rpiller   Members   -  Reputation: 663

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 November 2013 - 07:51 PM

You ISP most likely gives you a dynamic ip. You can use noir free service to get a host name that has your external ip addressed mapped to it. You run a program on your pc from them that sees any changes to your ip and updates the host name.

You will have to figure out port forwarding though on your router.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS