• Create Account

Qt and OpenGL

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 Laval B   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5670

0Likes

Posted 28 November 2013 - 05:04 AM

Hello everyone.

I have started porting our map editor from a MFC sdi application to a Qt application and i'm having issues with OpenGL. By the way i'm quite new to Qt. I'm nusing Qt 5.1.1 with Visual Studio 2012 toolchain and Qt Creator 2.8.1.

I have a QApplication with a main window derived from QMainWindow. The main window contains a few docking windows on the right, left and bottom docking area. For the main widget of the main window i subclassed QGLWidget for rendering. For some reason this widget is all black.

The QGLWidget subclass overrides only the initializeGL, resizeGL and painGL methods. The code for these methods is minimal :

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
/// One time initialization.
void SceneView::initializeGL()
{
    glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
    glClearColor(0.25f, 0.25f, 0.25f, 1.0f);
}

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
/// Called when the widget is resized.
void SceneView::resizeGL(int w, int h)
{
    // Setup viewport, projection etc.
    glViewport(0, 0, (GLint)w, (GLint)h);
}

/// Called when the widget is redrawn.
void SceneView::paintGL()
{
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
}

Whatever the clear color i chose, the widget is always black.

I have tried creating the widget with and without parent, creating the widget alone (only window in the application) and it didn't change anything. I have tried to call swapBuffers (which, according to the documentation i shouln't do) and it didn't work.