Any Game Makers Here?

Started by
32 comments, last by Tom Sloper 10 years, 4 months ago

So, I modeled my level and characters. I did the UV unwrapping. I textured some of the stuff. I added lights and cameras. Then I started programming. I got it working. I have the animations going. Now it is time for the AI and the objectives and such. So I finished all of that stuff, and it is all working fine (no bugs)...

BUT I STILL HAVEN"T MADE A GAME!

When I look through the posts here, I see a lot of discussion on how to do this technical thing, or that technical thing. I see people want to make a cool MMORPG or a cool FPS. But I don't see much talk on making games. I mean, I do see posts on how to solve this programming issue, and use that algorithm, but I don't see many game makers.

(Excuse me for sounding so pessimistic)

I figure a lot of people just want to make those formulaic games because you don't have to know anything about game theory or anything. Most people play FPS anyhow.

To me a game maker is like the person who made UNO, or the person who made CHESS. I mean, they actually made a game. Unique games at that.

So I am going to change my answers to beginners who want to learn how to make games. I am not going to tell them to get this engine or that engine. I am not going to tell them how to learn this programming language or that programming language first.

Making games is more than just scripting some character to do this motion when that key is pressed. To actually create a game I think that game theory and game mechanics should be understood first. Then you can layer your cool ideas on top of solid mechanics.

All of the technical stuff is just busy work to bring a game into fruition. I would rather bypass all the programming and modeling and stuff and just have my game pop out of a microwave oven so that I can play it ASAP.

In fact, I would rather the whole technical process be skipped (wouldn't we all)?