• Create Account

A book to match with “Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics”

Old topic!

Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
18 replies to this topic

#1   Members   -  Reputation: 121

0Likes

Posted 12 December 2013 - 01:07 PM

Hello,
I'm going to buy "Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics" book.

I hope it is possible for me to put in practice with java the mathematical concepts within the book, 
since I'm studying java.
I was wondering if there was an appropriate book to match with this book that is not outdated.

Two books I found to seem interesting are "Developing Games in Java" but is from 2004
and "Learning Libgdx Game Development". The last would be perfect if it were not for the fact that Libgdx still
does't fully support 3d (The book in fact stops at the development of 2d graphics).

Waiting for Libgdx news, what book would you recommend to read in the meantime?
I also tried to find some books about OpenGL and shader for java, but most of the books stops at 2004.

I hope I have expressed myself correctly, thank you for your attention.

#2   Members   -  Reputation: 606

2Likes

Posted 12 December 2013 - 02:16 PM

Hi Robz,

as an experienced Java developer ( I am working professionally with java for about 10 years ) I does not recommend you to stick with java if you intent to use OpenGL and accelerated graphics...

Btw, if you insist using java for low level graphic programming, you may check this sites:

http://lwjgl.org/ -> A OpenGL binding for java ( or java binding for OpenGL? ) focused on game development.

and of course, you may check the http://opengl.org site ( http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Language_bindings#Java )