• Create Account

Just a bit of info for newbie

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Nathan2222_old   Members   -  Reputation: -400

0Likes

Posted 17 December 2013 - 02:52 PM

I'm still learning c++ but i just wanna get preliminary info on game AI.
Is AI really hard, like harder than coding c++. From what i've seen, AI is the code, i'm not sure.
Let's say i were to create gta style game, how hard will it be to code AI for the NPC's, enemies, cops (maybe animals, zombies). Will it be too hard or just involve a lot of coding.
Another question is on learning AI. For example, in that gta game you fail a mission (there may be no last checkpoint). You go about doing other missions and then you meet the guy that escaped in the mission you lost in another mission. Is it possible to make that guy (enemy) remember how you fought him i.e. he'll remember what weapons you used, the mistakes you made and the mistakes he made, when/who you called for backup (if you did) and he'll try not to make them again and exploit your mistakes.
Is it also possible to make learning AI for NPC's and police. For example, in that gta game, an NPC sees you killing/beating someone and he calls 911 and then the cops arrive and start chasing you, you manage to escape to your safe house. 2 days later that NPC sees you and recognises you then alerts the cops but u don't know he/she (the NPC) has alerted the cops. The cops learn that blowing their sirens chases you off so they come in an undercover vehicle (maybe a taxi) and catch you by surprise. In that case, both the NPC and cops learned from their mistakes.
(I'm not making a gta game now, not until i am experienced. Just used it as an example because it focuses on the game genre i like most).