• Create Account

Avoid Drawing Offscreen Sprites / Textures in 2D XNA

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Believe82   Members   -  Reputation: 118

0Likes

Posted 18 December 2013 - 07:38 AM

Hi,

I'm pretty new to XNA and am making a 2D RPG and I have a quick question regarding drawing in XNA.

Currently, I have a large background texture, so I would rather not re-draw the entire background every frame. I have multiple sprites I update and process and draw. I understand the GPU culls offscreen pixels, however to achieve even higher optimization for sprites I check if the sprites texture bound is inside my camera view (using the view transform matrix) bounding frustum. If the sprite is not inside the view bounding frustum I do not even make a call to draw the sprite.

However for the large background, I check if the background is currently in view, if it is I use source atlasing to determine the top left coordinate of the background I will be using, and only draw that section of the background (size of the screen). 

I feel like my way of avoiding drawing the background is pretty hack because I have to constantly calculate the new origin position within my background, and see if I will be drawing the entire section of the background or a piece of it ( for edge cases of the background).

Is there a better way of avoiding drawing the large texture every frame besides the one I gave? Do these optimizations even matter in XNA?

Thanks for any help!

Sponsor:

#2 laztrezort   Members   -  Reputation: 954

0Likes

Posted 18 December 2013 - 08:35 AM

Is there a better way of avoiding drawing the large texture every frame besides the one I gave? Do these optimizations even matter in XNA?