Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!


1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!


Android adb can't 'see' my device


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 dsm1891   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2088

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 23 December 2013 - 08:01 AM

Hello,

 

hopefully somebody here can help me, my problem I was debugging my app via usb (it was working fine at this point) when my phone became disconnected. From that point on eclipse/adb was never able to 'see' my device.

Things i have tried:

  • Countless restarts(of pc and device)
  • Re-installing/updating my phone's drivers
  • restarting the adb server
  • reinstalling android sdk

Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

(and yes my phone has usb debugging enabled)

 

Thanks in advance!

 

 

==edit==

 

hmm... It might be something to do with my phone, I tried another android device an adb could see that device.

 

==edit#2==

It seems other computers are able to detect my device. this just makes the problem even more curious as it isn't the phone that's wrong.

 

Also I have noticed sometimes when I plug my phone into my development computer windows tells me "device is not recognised". but not all the time (and yes I can see it in device manager)


Edited by dsm1891, 03 January 2014 - 02:02 PM.

Mobile Developer at PawPrint Games ltd.

(Not "mobile" as in I move around a lot, but as in phones, mobile phone developer)

(Although I am mobile. no, not as in a babies mobile, I move from place to place)

(Not "place" as in fish, but location.)


Sponsor:

#2 3DModelerMan   Members   -  Reputation: 1134

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 23 December 2013 - 06:12 PM

What OS and what version are you running? If you're running linux then you can find the device ID with lsusb and add that in adb_usb.ini. If you can't run lsusb then there's a list of device IDs on this page for various venders: http://developer.android.com/tools/device.html



#3 dsm1891   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2088

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 24 December 2013 - 02:04 AM

What OS and what version are you running? If you're running linux then you can find the device ID with lsusb and add that in adb_usb.ini. If you can't run lsusb then there's a list of device IDs on this page for various venders: http://developer.android.com/tools/device.html

win 7 :/

(eclipse ide)


Mobile Developer at PawPrint Games ltd.

(Not "mobile" as in I move around a lot, but as in phones, mobile phone developer)

(Although I am mobile. no, not as in a babies mobile, I move from place to place)

(Not "place" as in fish, but location.)


#4 ryutenchi   Members   -  Reputation: 353

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 December 2013 - 03:11 AM

This may sound weird, but have you tried pulling the battery? Same thing happened to me and the thing that finally fixed it was pulling the battery on the phone for a few seconds^^;



#5 dsm1891   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2088

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 December 2013 - 05:19 AM

This may sound weird, but have you tried pulling the battery? Same thing happened to me and the thing that finally fixed it was pulling the battery on the phone for a few seconds^^;

 

Im using an xperia s... Cant pull battery out (its mounted in) :/ (ive also tried hard resetting my phone)

Thanks anyway


Mobile Developer at PawPrint Games ltd.

(Not "mobile" as in I move around a lot, but as in phones, mobile phone developer)

(Although I am mobile. no, not as in a babies mobile, I move from place to place)

(Not "place" as in fish, but location.)


#6 Madhed   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3482

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 December 2013 - 05:25 AM

You didn't perhaps plug into the ethernet port? ;)

 

Seriously, that sounds fubar. Did you try another usb cable? Maybe it's just broken.



#7 dsm1891   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2088

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 December 2013 - 11:32 AM

You didn't perhaps plug into the ethernet port? ;)

 

Seriously, that sounds fubar. Did you try another usb cable? Maybe it's just broken.

hahaha, no, I do that ALL the time (usb's and Ethernets shouldn't be the same width imo).

 

pretty much is, I thought I could be usb cable, but i am using the same cable with the other phone and that works :/


Mobile Developer at PawPrint Games ltd.

(Not "mobile" as in I move around a lot, but as in phones, mobile phone developer)

(Although I am mobile. no, not as in a babies mobile, I move from place to place)

(Not "place" as in fish, but location.)


#8 RobTheBloke   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2349

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 January 2014 - 01:19 PM

Are you sure you've installed the correct USB debugging driver? 
http://developer.sonymobile.com/downloads/drivers/xperia-s-xperia-nx-and-xperia-acro-hd-drivers/



#9 dsm1891   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2088

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 03 February 2014 - 06:14 AM

Are you sure you've installed the correct USB debugging driver? 
http://developer.sonymobile.com/downloads/drivers/xperia-s-xperia-nx-and-xperia-acro-hd-drivers/

yup :(


Mobile Developer at PawPrint Games ltd.

(Not "mobile" as in I move around a lot, but as in phones, mobile phone developer)

(Although I am mobile. no, not as in a babies mobile, I move from place to place)

(Not "place" as in fish, but location.)





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS