Best way to get started

Started by
4 comments, last by Benjamin Jimenez 10 years, 3 months ago

I'm an experienced programmer with many years of experience architecting and developping commercial applications (used to design computer chips). Over the years, I've used many languages and could easily learn another one. C++ is what I've used the most.

I always look for new challenges, and always was curious about game programming. I would like to get a bit more serious about it.

I did some research and quickly became "information overloaded".

I think a good way would to be start using one of the engine and play with it for a while. What is the best engine for an avid programmer but novice game developper?

Advertisement
I can personally recommend Unity - although I may be a bit biased due to the fact that it is the only "real" game engine that I've used. It has an easy to learn interface, which only took me a day to get the hang of. It is very easy to use, and has many online tutorials, scripts, and animations that you can use. It is very good for beginners as well as more advanced programmers and game developers.
If Walt Disney can figure out how to make people pay to stand in line all day, I can surely master programming...

A lot of people use Unity (uses C#, but has a really nice UI), and the Unreal Development Kit (UDK).

Personally, I suggest getting used to the game-dev environment. Even if you're an experienced programmer, it's a good idea to get used to working in "real-time" using a gameloop, just because it's different than the event-driven design of many windows-style applications (not necessarily harder, just different).