• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

Best Game Engine for Beginners?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 bangaroon   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes

Posted 17 January 2014 - 06:38 PM

Hello! I am wondering what is a game engine best suited for beginners? Preferably one not too expensive, since this is my first time making a video game. I've tried my hand at programming only once, and I am not that good at it. Despite my lack of ability, I'd like a game engine that requires a bit of programming so I can hone my skills. After all, you gotta practice something if you want to get good at it. ;) When it comes to price, I'd buy anything up to about $500 or a little over it. Anything closer to $1,000 is a big no for me. That's it, thank you for reading.

Sponsor:

#2 ProtectedMode   Members   -  Reputation: 1286

1Likes

Posted 17 January 2014 - 07:31 PM

As you indicate you're a beginner, you may want to take a look at engines that require less coding. Maybe GameMaker or Unity (just google them) are relatively easy-to-use. Both allow you to code to expand features, but Unity requires coding to build a bit more exciting things and it may be a bit overkill for your purposes.