• Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!

1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!

Algorithms - Data Structures Book

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 shadowstep00   Members   -  Reputation: 615

0Likes

Posted 26 January 2014 - 03:26 PM

I am looking for a book that explains in detail all the usefull-most used algorithms and data structures. 

I would prefer if it had exercises in it along with the solutions.

My mathimatical backround is not bad but I am not an expert either.

So I would like the book explanations to not be so mathematically complex.

Be more like a begginner book with explanations as simple as possible. With some pictures in it too. :P

If instead of a book there is a good site I dont really mind using that instead of the book.

In terms of programming I just finished learning C. I will be testing these algorithms in C 

Thanks. 

Failure is not an option...

Sponsor:

#2 Alessio1989   Members   -  Reputation: 2482

3Likes

Posted 26 January 2014 - 04:59 PM

One of the most used books is "Introduction to Algorithms", by Cormen, Leiserson, Rivest and Stein http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Introduction_to_Algorithms

It was used in my ADS course too (as "recommended" English book, since the course was not in English), it comes with exercise.

Note also that most of algorithms and data structure books (especially introductory and intermediate level books) don't use a specific "real" language (like C/C++, Java, Python, etc.) but their own pseudo-code. This means the job of translating all into C (or any other programming language) is yours.

Edited by Alessio1989, 26 January 2014 - 05:01 PM.

When you're upset, just imagine a T-Rex making a bed