• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

Hello

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 EdinsonC   Members   -  Reputation: 249

0Likes

Posted 27 January 2014 - 04:44 PM

Hello people, the name's Edinson and I am 18 years old, I am a computer science major, but have yet to start CS course, I live in Brooklyn, NY and am aspiring to become an Indie Video Game Developer.

...Anyway now that the introduction is out of the way I'd like a little advise on how to start out; I am a novice at all this. I'm currently coming up with ideas for games and jotting them all down. I know not to aim too high (like an AAA type of game). So far I've been developing ideas for a card game which in the long run can become a mobile app and includes multiplayer. I know it might seem a bit far fetched for a beginner but for now i can just work on the story for single player for the game. Also, I've been thinking about making a 2D Top Down Perspective RPG with graphics similar to the classic Final Fantasy games, or classic Pokemon games. I'd like some advice on what programming languages would most likely be best fitted for such games and for me as a beginner. I plan to study the languages and use them to make copies of classic simple games such as Tetris or Pong to familiarize myself with the language well, as it is common for most beginners. Then I plan to jump into working on my own games.

...I can't wait to start working on games and learn from others, I will return the favour by returning the good karma and teach others in things I've learned along the way.