• Create Account

Spectral Accumulation Shader

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 vlad_s   Members   -  Reputation: 107

1Likes

Posted 29 January 2014 - 04:46 AM

Hi all,

My name is Vladeta Stojanovic and I'm currently working as a research assistant in visualisation and modelling at Abertay University (where I studied the undergrad Computer Games Technology). When not working on work related projects, I work on my own game prototypes and like to experiment with different rendering methods. In terms of shader programming, I'm very much influenced by the "cheap and easy" demo scene way of writting shader effects tongue.png

While messing around yesterday I came up with this shader (I decided to call it the "Spectral Accumulation Shader"). I discovered this somewhat by accident, as I originally wanted to write a simple Lambert diffuse shader and mess around with it (using some Blinn shading variations). 

Below is a screenshot of the shader used on standard testing models (Utah teapot, skull and the Stanford dragon):

5111781_orig.png

And here is the HLSL code (compiled using shader model 3.0 and tested in XNA 4.0):

float4 _SpectralAccumShader(float3 _normal, float3 _eyeVector, float3 _vertexPosition, int occSteps, int spectralBands, float highlight_value) 
{
    float4 outColor = float4(0, 0, 0, 0);

float3 lambert = saturate(dot(_normal, _eyeVector)); //switch eyeVector to lightPosition if using static light

float3 halfway = normalize(lambert + eyeVector);

float3 spectralMap = halfway - _normal;

float3 depthMap = _vertexPosition / 100.0f;

float occDistance = length(normalize(depthMap)); 
    float specDistance = length(normalize(spectralMap)); 

for (int i = 0; i < occSteps; i++) 
    {
        occDistance += dot(_normal, depthMap);