• Create Account

Directx9: Problem using index buffer to draw simple triangles

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Pasihukka   Members   -  Reputation: 131

0Likes

Posted 30 January 2014 - 05:38 AM

Hello,

I am new to directx and trying to study it's concepts from a scratch. So far I have managed to render geometries using vertex buffers. This has worked fine from the beginning. However, now I am trying to convert my application to use index buffers together with vertex buffers. But now I am facing a strange problem with index buffers. I just can't figure out what is wrong

The problem is that the DrawIndexedPrimitive method seems to behave oddly, especially the PrimitiveCount parameter.

Here is the problem:

I am trying to render one triangle with vertices:

0, 0, 0,

100, 0, 0,

0, 100, 0

Indices being 0,1,2 this is how I try to render my triangle:

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 3, 0, 1);

But strangely, nothing is rendered! However, when I change my primitive count to 2:

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 3, 0, 2);

my triangle is rendered.

Puzzled about this I decided to try how it works with two triangles:

0, 0, 0,

100, 0, 0,

0, 100, 0,

100, 0 ,0,

100, 100, 0,

0, 100, 0,

Now, indices being 0,1,2,3,4,5. The result is:

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 6, 0, 1); -> Nothing is rendered

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 6, 0, 2); -> Nothing is rendered

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 6, 0, 3); ->  The first triangle is rendered

DrawIndexedPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLELIST, 0, 0, 6, 0, 4); -> Now both triangles are rendered