• Create Account

Real-time day-night cycles in Assassins Creed

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 SmooBG   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 30 January 2014 - 09:57 AM

Hi Guys,

I'm an animator, and I'm trying to wrap my head around real-time day-night cycles, and how they are executed in games such as Assassin's Creed.  Obviously the day-night cycle changes aren't rendered, animated frames (which is how I do things).  So how is it done?  Some sort of scripting?

Thanks!

Sponsor:

#2 TheComet   Members   -  Reputation: 1383

1Likes

Posted 30 January 2014 - 11:13 AM

The more complex ones are definitely scripted. There are many ways to approach this.

Usually, the simplest thing to do is have two skyspheres, one with a night sky texture and the other with a day sky texture. To switch between day and night, you adjust the transparency of the spheres to fade from one to the other. The spheres need to rotate slowly, depending on what time it is, so the sky appears to move. I can imagine this still being achieved using only one animated object, but most of the time the rotation and fading is scripted rather than animated.

This can be combined with a light source positioned at the sun, which also needs to have its colours and brightness adjusted according to what time it is. For example, the sun would be mostly white with a tint of yellow during most of the day, and be bright orange/red during sunset and sun rise. The moon probably also uses a light source, which would be a deep blue colour during most of the night, and transition into white during "moonset" and "moonrise".

Some games combine fog to help with the transition.

Edited by TheComet, 30 January 2014 - 11:15 AM.

YOUR_OPINION >/dev/null

#3 Matias Goldberg   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3007