• Create Account

Post processing

Old topic!

Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1   Members   -  Reputation: 404

0Likes

Posted 02 February 2014 - 12:47 PM

Hi guys

I have a image that has been rendered externally via Direct2D and I would like to do some modifications to it procedurally in D3D11.

Basically, I would like to take this source image:

map1_zpsc3e27a1b.png

Round the edges a bit:

map2_zps120876e2.png

and then add some graininess like this:

map3_zps9023d3ca.png

I have never done anything like this before so I am not sure where to start....

Any ideas/suggestions?

Thanks

JB

#2   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5893

1Likes

Posted 02 February 2014 - 02:15 PM

You probably need some restrictions, like are the colors always only those 3 colors?

Is it a magnification of a smaller image, like an image where each pixel is 16x16 instead of 1x1 or similar?

If it can be any image at all and you want to smooth hard corners, then it's pretty difficult and you need a very smart algorithm that searches the images.

If the original image is a small image that you want to magnify without making it look pixelated, then it's much easier.

#3   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4319

0Likes

Posted 02 February 2014 - 03:21 PM

Like Erik said,

in the specific example you specified, you'd need some kind of algorithm that generates an outline of the areas of the different colors, after that, it's not too hard.