• Create Account

Please much needed help

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Gr33nKing4207   Members   -  Reputation: 129

0Likes

Posted 04 February 2014 - 06:07 PM

OK so I would love to persue my dream as a game developer but my problem is I've always been interested in both the art and programming side. Im a decent artist but iv also read a good amount about programming. My question is this. If I persue my dream of a programmer will I have full ability to create all the art content and animation as I desire and make it look as good as my ability allow me to when creating my game? I'm 21 and plan to work to words a cs degree when I find the right school. I'd like to begin creating a game portfolio asap tho and yes I know this means beginning with the basics like pong/tetris and work my way from there. I'd love to create a 2d adventure game like Zelda with great looking cut scenes and animation. Is this all unrealistic thinking for one person doing both programming and graphics and animation? Also like i said. Beginner programmer here. I was learning a little bit of c++ on windows and now I own a Mac. Where should I begin learning programming on it? I know I have Xcode for my IDE but what language should I try to learn for my particular interest? Continue with c++? I do own a copy of Michael dawsons beginning c++ threw game programming. Is this a good start? Any replies will be much appreciated in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 SeanMiddleditch   Members   -  Reputation: 5177

0Likes

Posted 04 February 2014 - 06:31 PM

It's not unrealistic, though it might be harder than you think. An example of a game being made by (more or less) one person is https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/523651724/legend-of-iya.