• Create Account

C++ SDL - Deleting dynamically allocated objects

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 aliasc   Members   -  Reputation: 180

0Likes

Posted 05 February 2014 - 09:33 PM

Hello GDNet. I am studying the SDL library and while doing so i find myself in troubles back in the C++ basics. 
The question is : If you delete an object that is dynamically allocated, and then try it again does it cause problems or leaks ?

The issue is as follows:

I have a Sprite class which basically deals with loading sprites and drawing them onto the screen.

I have Game class with functions like Init() Draw() Update() Quit().

I dynamically create new sprites in the Game class for each image i want to draw, and then i delete objects in the Quit() function.

In the main game loop i experimented with some things. I attached a key event to delete specific sprite object which actually removes the

sprite from the screen and clears the allocated memory. Note that i did that in the game loop. And in the Quit function i also delete

that object. Is this ok ? It does not seem to crash the program or anything but what happens behind the scenes ?

This can be an issue when the Player kills an Enemy and i free that specific object, and then back in the Quit function i try to 
free the garbage again.

Here is some code for reference

game.cpp

Sprite Background = new Sprite();

Game::Initialize()
{
    Background->LoadSprite("bg.bmp");
    /........../
}

Game::Loop()
{
    while(Running){
      while(PollEvent){
         if(KEY == "x"){
            delete Background;
           Background = NULL;
        }
     }
   }
}

Game::Quit()
{
    //Background once deleted and now again ?
    delete Background;
}

Sponsor:

#2 dejaime   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4027

2Likes