• Create Account

A* Bad heuristic (zigzag)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 GuiTeK   Members   -  Reputation: 140

0Likes

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:43 PM

Hello,

I'm new to AI programming and I need a pathfinding algorithm for my game which uses isometric tile maps (see below the screenshot in attachment). Player can move in the 8 cardinal directions (North, North East, East, etc.).

I successfully implemented the A* algorithm, however I think my heuristic is bad:

heuristic_bad.PNG

As you can see, the algorithm doesn't keep a straight diagonal to the goal. It's not natural at all, I can't let the player move this way.

I used this heuristic which is described as the best algorithm for grids that allow 8 directions of movement.

Here is how I implemented it in Java:

public final int ORTHOGONAL_COST = 14;
public final int DIAGONAL_COST = 10;

public float getHeuristicCost(final Point2D.Int source, final Point2D.Int target)
{
	int dx = Math.abs(source.x - target.x);
	int dy = Math.abs(source.y - target.y) / 2;

return ORTHOGONAL_COST * (dx + dy) + (DIAGONAL_COST - 2 * ORTHOGONAL_COST) * Math.min(dx, dy);
}

I divided dy by 2 because of the map's style, it gives a path even weirder if I don't divide by 2.

I can understand the path isn't straight because this heuristic isn't fit for my map style, but which one should I use then?

Thank you.

Sponsor:

#2 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 15091

1Likes

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:58 PM

Are you sure the heuristic is what's wrong and not your overall traversal cost computation?

#3 GuiTeK   Members   -  Reputation: 140

0Likes

Posted 16 February 2014 - 03:47 PM

Are you sure the heuristic is what's wrong and not your overall traversal cost computation?