• Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!

1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!

How does your Pseudocode look?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 Tutorial Doctor   Members   -  Reputation: 1811

0Likes

Posted 08 March 2014 - 12:56 PM

Okay, so I have to look for ways to do stuff fast since I am a lone developer who is new to all of this stuff. So far I know I can get a working game going, my only hangups are quality animation and the time it takes to code and debug the code. So, I am trying to speed up my coding skills (not focusing on optimization) so that I can get an idea up and going. 

I have found that the best way to start out the coding process is by:

1) Thinking about what you want to do

3) Write pseudocode for what you want to do
2) Determining the PROGRAMMING COUNTERPARTS. For example, the programming counterpart to jumping is adding a force in the up direction). 
3) Figuring out how the API does it
4) Fill in the pseudocode with the API stuff. 

So, say I wanted to make a character jump simply by typing the name of the character, and the word "jump."

man.Jump()

This is how I would want it to work. So it seems I need a class and a function that adds a force in the up direction when it is called. 

Another example:

cut_scene.Begin()
cut_scene.End()

I need a function that starts video playback and another that stops it. Etc. Perhaps the cut_scene part would be a class or something?

So, how do you do your pseudocode? Or do you even use pseudocode? I just want some ideas on how others do it. 

They call me the Tutorial Doctor.

Sponsor:

#2 Aardvajk   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7717

4Likes

Posted 08 March 2014 - 01:27 PM