• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

Making an object shoot in Unity

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 Bubu Bhat   Members   -  Reputation: 117

-1Likes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 10:16 AM

I'm just beginning to learn Unity basics. I hardly know languages like C# or Javascript. So I need some help in 'shooting' in unity. Now given, shooting means a huge topic, I'll try to narrow it down to what exactly I need.

I have my Charactercontroller, which can move around forward/backward sideways etc. I learned it from youtube. Now what I want is to get a very basic idea of how EXACTLY AI Shooting works. For e.g. I have a sphere, scaled it appropriately to make it look like a tower etc. Now I want that tower to shoot flames(if possible) at my player character. I'm not going into details of placing guns or barrels etc. No bells and whistles for now.

I tried to learn it from youtube but the problem is most of the videos come with asset sets and models ready. I don't want to use those now. Nothing made by others.

I hope I've made my problem clear...If anyone can help me with a script(with some documentation, if possible), it'd be of great help. 

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 22783

0Likes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 02:50 PM

Lots of ways to do it.