• Create Account

Linux development...

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 MARS_999   Members   -  Reputation: 1280

0Likes

Posted 30 March 2014 - 11:17 PM

I am new to Linux and any development on it.

I have a Radeon X1300 GPU, and will be coding C/C++/OpenGL/SDL2 or SFML2

I need some recommendations for IDE under Linux.

I am running Linux Mint 16...

QtCreator? If I remember right the UI wasn't to friendly to get a simple C++ project working....

How do I install the latest drivers for this GPU? From what I can tell the latest don't support the X1300?

What is X11? Do I need it?

I would like to use Irrlicht also but couldn't get that working either.

So I am not liking the experience so far... Not trouble free at all....

Thanks!

Hope to overcome the sour taste of this and enjoy coding on Linux but need some serious help!!!

Sponsor:

#2 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3156

3Likes

Posted 31 March 2014 - 01:05 AM

Hi,

Using a cross-platform game engine which includes Linux will prevent many problems and thousands of hours of labor.

List of Game Engines

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_game_engines