• Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!

1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!

Starting out with JavaScript

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 AaronPreston   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 31 March 2014 - 02:46 PM

Hello everyone, I work with JavaScript daily. I'm pretty new to it, but at the same time I have a good grasp on how the language works. I know that JavaScript isn't a good language to build games with, C++ is a lot better. I want to learn C++, but I have no clue where to start. I am looking for some hands-on C++, if anyone knows where I can find maybe a program or something to start with. That's how I learned JavaScript.

I'd really appreciate help in the right direction.

Sponsor:

#2 dejaime   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4119

3Likes

Posted 31 March 2014 - 04:18 PM

I know that JavaScript isn't a good language to build games with, C++ is a lot better.

You are being misled.

I am a C++ developer and create practically everything with C++, but I can guarantee you that JavaScript is a great language to build games!

You could take a look at this website:

http://www.codeavengers.com/javascript/17

and maybe move to Unity with JavaScript (actually, UnityScript, but really, really, similar.)

Edited by dejaime, 31 March 2014 - 04:29 PM.

#3 Glass_Knife   Moderators   -  Reputation: 5949

3Likes

Posted 31 March 2014 - 05:00 PM

You are being misled.
I am a C++ developer and create practically everything with C++, but I can guarantee you that JavaScript is a great language to build games!